Monday Musings – On Being An Introvert

Facebook. Twitter. Instagram. Blogs. The list of social media is never-ending. It’s so easy to connect in today’s internet information age. Yet some of us – the quiet, observant, seemingly standoffish introverts – still have trouble making friends and finding new connections. I’m one of those people.

Yes, I know. Quite cliché for a writer to be an introvert. It’s not that I don’t like people, that I want to be alone, or that I’m picky about who I associate with. Rather, it’s that I often don’t know what to talk about. I don’t know how to make small talk. I’m uncomfortable talking about myself. I don’t know how to start a conversation. However, I love to have those interesting conversations. I’ll be the first to admit I’m horrible at being an author in the information age.

Here’s how you can help an introvert like me: Ask me questions, especially questions requiring deep thought and lots of explaining. I enjoy discussions and banter that produce a back and forth conversation, as long as one can remain civil about the topic. Philosophy, science, religion, culture, the nature of the universe, the meaning of life – I could ramble all day on questions of this sort. So, ask away. Stalk me on all my social media outlets. Tell me what kinds of things you want to see and hear from me.

Or, if those topics are too overwhelming, ask me about my cats. I can talk all day about them too.

One thought on “Monday Musings – On Being An Introvert

Leave a Reply

